Passion: the Bright Light of Glory by Louie Giglio and others

This book is a compilation of talks given at Passion Conferences, gatherings of college-aged young people around the world based on Isaiah 26:8: “Yes, Lord, walking in the way of your truth we eagerly wait for you, for Your name and renown are the desire of our souls.” Louie Giglio, Francis Chan, Beth Moore, John Piper, Judah Smith, and Christine Caine are the authors of the individual chapters, which take various approaches to the overarching theme of living for God’s glory. The point of the Passion movement is to inspire young adults to impact their generation for Christ, and each speaker conveys specific ways to go about that calling; however, it is not so much about methods but about motivation. I was convicted and challenged by the general questions asked throughout this book:

Is God the foundation of my joy? Am I living a life that makes sense? Am I carrying the name of Jesus wherever I go? Am I boasting only in the Cross? Is my mind captivated by God’s word? Am I sowing seeds for eternity? How do I handle divine interruptions? Am I boldly overcoming fear as I trust God’s purpose and plans for me?

The downside to this book was that I felt like a bystander outside the conference arena hearing segments of the sessions secondhand. It almost seemed like a “guess you had to be there” moment to really leave with a lasting impression. Some of the chapters did not flow well and were probably better received in person. Multiple typographical errors were missed in the editing process and distracted me from fully absorbing the message. Attending a Passion Conference in my early college days would have made a huge positive impact on me. I highly recommend this book as a follow-up for those who are familiar with this movement.

_200_360_Book_1131_coverRequired Federal Trade Commission disclaimer: I was provided a complimentary copy of this book by the publisher through the BookLook blogger review program in exchange for an honest appraisal. 

 

Feel free to leave a comment :)

