The Wholehearted Wife by the Smalleys

Erin Smalley wrote this book with the support of her husband Greg and father-in-law Gary. This family’s ministry in strengthening marriages and families is far-reaching through books, conferences, and radio. I am not usually interested in Focus on the Family resources, but I decided to order this book because of the engaging title. Becoming a more wholehearted wife is something that I see a need for in my life, and I am sure my husband would appreciate being loved more wholeheartedly by me. While the subtitle promises 10 keys to a more loving relationship, the authors tackle the difficult issues without offering simplistic platitudes. Each chapter explores a different aspect of applying Scriptural principles to the marriage relationship with the focus on individual and shared spiritual growth. None of the information was new to me but was a good reminder of areas I tend to neglect at times. Several brief exercises are included for self-reflection, along with personal stories from the authors’ perspectives. Overall, I liked the book’s organization, which breaks down topical sections into lists and bullet points. However, I was distracted by the frequent shifting back and forth among authors (indicated by a name in parentheses) which seemed tedious and confusing to me; it was difficult to follow who was doing the writing. The content is similar to many other popular books on marriage but certainly Biblically-based and well-balanced. I would recommend it to any woman wanting to focus on her own attitude and commitment to her husband.

978-1-62405-146-3Required Federal Trade Commission disclaimer: I was provided a complimentary copy of this book by the publisher through the Tyndale House Blogger Review Program in exchange for an honest appraisal. 

One thought on “The Wholehearted Wife by the Smalleys

Feel free to leave a comment :)

