Two devotional books by Beth Moore

untitledWhispers of Hope: 10 weeks of devotional prayer is a well-designed guide to bringing intentional communion with God into your every day. It utilizes a P.R.A.I.S.E. mnemonic to provide a simple framework for journaling prayers. The author includes a brief introduction that explains not only how to use this system but why it is a good idea to pray in such a specific way. untitledI have found that this time of structured prayer, along with the day’s Scripture reading, has helped me to spend more focused quality time with the Lord each morning. I enjoy the design of this book, including easy-to-read print and a pretty cover with page marker flaps. Only two pages are added at the end for “answered prayers” but I would expect that each day would build on the previous ones in recognizing and recording the results of approaching God over the course of 70  days. Moore does suggest including thanksgiving in each area of focused P.R.A.I.S.E.

images

Portraits of Devotion has 366 daily devotional readings that build upon one another and provide continuity day by day (for example, the first 78 days are focused on 1 and 2 Samuel). Day 94 begins a journey through the New Testament. Since I just finished reading a year-long devotional, it is perfect timing to start another one to take me through 2015. The author seems to have an inspired imagination that brings the passages to life. She also explains linguistic and historical facts that lend clarity to the Biblical stories. I like the embossed green leather cover. My only criticism is that the print is too small for my aging eyes. But I enjoy Beth Moore’s writing so much that I will keep my reading glasses handy.

Required Federal Trade Commission disclaimer: I was provided a complimentary copy of this book by B&H Publishing Group in exchange for an honest appraisal.

Feel free to leave a comment :)

